Historytuition» Modern India» Mysore Wars

Mysore Wars

Hyder Ali was defeated by Maratha Peshwa Madhav Rao in 1764 and forced to sign a treaty in 1765. He surrendered him a part of his territory and also agreed to pay rupees twenty eight lakhs per annum. The Nizam of Hyderabad did not act alone but preferred to act in league with the English which resulted in the first Anglo-Mysore War.

1. The First Anglo-Mysore War (1767-69)
2. Treaty of Madras
3. The Second Anglo-Mysore War (1780-1784)
4. Treaty of Mangalore
5. The Third Anglo-Mysore War (1789-1792)
6. Treaty of Seringapatam
7. The Fourth Anglo-Mysore War (1799)