Simon Commission

Lord Birkenhead, Secretary of State for India announced the appointment of a statutory commission under the chairmanship of Sir John Simon on 8th November 1927.Simon Commission was officially known as Indian Statutory Commission. All the seven members of the commission were Englishmen who were the members of British Parliament. The commission was appointed to review the performance of reform of 1919 and suggested further reforms. The Congress at its Madras Session held in December 1927 resolved to boycott the commission. The Commission paid two visits to India (February – March 1928 and April 1929) each time it faced boycott. The report of Simon Commission omitted any mention of Dominion Status even as a distant goal and rejected all ideas of transfer of power at the center. The proposals of Simon Commission were completely rejected by the major political parties in the country including the Muslim League.