Rowlatt Act

In 1919 the Rowlatt Act was passed in spite of being opposed by all Indian members of the legislative council. The Act authorized the government to imprison people without trial. Three Indian members –Madan Mohan Malviya,Mohammad Ali Jinnah and Mazharul Haque resigned from the council in protest. The Rowlatt Act aroused a wave of popular indignation and led to the massacre at Jallianwala Bagh. All the repressive measures only added fuel to the fire of nationalism.