Lord Mountbatten (1947-48)

  • Sworn in as viceroy on 24th March 1947.
  • On 2nd June 1947 Mountbatten Plan was announced.
  • On 4th June 1947 Mountbatten announced transfer on power on 15th August.
  • On 4th July 1947 India Independence Bill was introduced in the House of Commons.
  • On 6th July referendum took place in NWFP boycotted by Abdul Ghaffar Khan.
  • On 11th August 1947, Constituent Assembly of Pakistan meets and elects Jinnah as President.
  • On 15th August 1947 India became independent.