Lord Dufferin (1884-1888)

  • In 1885 two Acts passed – Bengal Tenancy Act and Bengal Local Self-Government Act.
  • Third Anglo-Burmese War started in 1885.
  • In 1886 Upper Burma was annexed and delimitation of Afghan Northern boundary took place.
  • Allahabad University was incorporated.
  • Aitchison Committee.
  • Number of new taxes were introduced such as salt tax and petroleum tax.