Treaty of Deogaon (1803)

In 1803 Raghuji Bhosle and the Company concluded the treaty of Deogaon in the course of the Second Anglo-Maratha War. Under the treaty Bhonsle agreed to

  • Cede the province of Cuttack including Balasore which gave the Company control over a continuous stretch of the eastern seaboard and linked the presidencies of Bengal and Madras.
  • Expel all foreigners from his service.