History Tuition » Modern India» Anglo Burmese Wars » Third Anglo Burmese War (1885-1886)

Third Anglo Burmese War (1885-1886)

The Third Anglo-Burmese War was a conflict that took place during 7–29 November 1885, with sporadic resistance and insurgency continuing into 1887. It was the final of three wars fought in the 19th century between the Burmese and the British. The war saw the loss of sovereignty of an independent Burma under the Konbaung Dynasty, whose rule had already been reduced to the territory known as Upper Burma, the region of Lower Burma having been annexed by the British in 1853, as a result of the Second Anglo-Burmese War. The British annexed Burma on 1 January 1886. But the annexation was only the beginning of an insurgency that would last until 1896. The final, and now completely successful, pacification of the country, under the direction of Sir Frederick Roberts, was only brought about by an extensive system of small military police protective posts scattered all over the country, and small lightly equipped columns moving out in response whenever a gathering of insurgents occurred.

The British poured reinforcements into the country, and it was in this phase of the campaign, lasted several years. Meting out collective punishments on villages finally broke their resistance. Villages were burned and the property of villagers either confiscated or destroyed. The British policy of overwhelming reprisals against villages suspected of assisting the insurgency eventually brought the country under control. The British also extended their control into the tribal areas of the Kachin Hills and Chin Hills. These territories, only nominally ruled even by the Burmese kingdom, were taken over by the British