History Tuition » Modern India» Anglo Burmese Wars » First Burmese War (1823-1826)

First Burmese War (1823-1826)

The First Anglo-Burmese War lasted from 1823 to 1826. It was one of the three wars that were fought between Burma and the British colonial empire during the 19th century resulted in gradual extinction of Burmese independence.

During the end of the 18th century and beginning of the 19th, the Burmese had engaged in an expansionist policy against its neighbors that has finally set it in contact with the British colonial empire. They apparently were not aware of the tactics, discipline and resources of the Europeans, and thus were not cautious about entering a war.

On September 23, 1823, an armed party of Burmese attacked Shapura, an island close to the Chittagong side, killing and wounding six of the British guards. War with Burma was formally declared on March 05, 1824. On May 17, 1824, a Burmese force invaded Chittagong and drove sepoys and police detachment from its position at Ramu, but did not follow up its success.