History Tuition» Ancient India» The Mauryan Empire » Decline of Mauryan Empire

Categories of Ashoka's Inscriptions

  1. Bhabru- Conversion to Buddhism
  2. Barbar Hills- Enjoins tolerance
  3. Tarai Pillars- Respect to Buddhism
  4. 14 Rock Edicts- Administration and ethics.
  5. Minor Rock Edicts-Personal history of Ashoka and summary of Dhamma
  6. 7 Pillar Rock Edicts-Appendix to Rock Edicts