Political history of Guptas
 History TuitionPolitical history of GuptasAncient IndiaPolitical history of GuptasGuptasPolitical history of GuptasPolitical history of Guptas

Political history of Guptas

The Poona Copper Plate inscriptions of Prabhavati Gupta describe Sri Gupta as the Adiraja of the Gupta dynasty. Ghatotkacha has been described in the Gupta records as the son and successor of Sri Gupta. In the Gupta records the title Maharaja is used both for Sri Gupta and Ghatotkacha. This title was often borne by feudatory chiefs. It is suggested that the early Guptas were subordinate rulers under the Murundas.

1. Chandragupta I
2. Samudragupta
3. Chandragupta II
4. Kumaragupta I
5. Skandagupta
6. Other Successors

The Advertising Network