Morley-Minto Reforms (1909)

The British govt played the game of Divide and Rule and tried to win over moderate nationalist opinion so that the militant nationalist could be isolated and suppressed. To placate the moderate nationalists it announced constitutional concessions through the Indian Council Act of 1909 known as Morley-Minto Reforms. In 1911 it also announced the cancellation of the partition of Bengal. Western and eastern Bengal was to be united while a new province consisting of Bihar and Orissa was to be created. The capital of British India was shifted to Delhi from Calcutta. The reforms increased the number of elected members in the Imperial Legislative Council from 16 to 60 of these 27 were to be elected. But most of the members were indirectly elected by landlords, organizations of industrialists and traders and by the provincial legislative councils. Separate representation was given to Muslims. The number of members in the provincial councils was increased to 50.Less than half of them were to be elected by landlords, organization of traders, universities and local bodies.